Don’t Let Others Keep You From Awesome

August 13, 2013


Do you even let other people’s expectations get in the way of what you know you should be doing? 

Maybe it is at a job and your employer expects more than what was discussed for your job description. They present you with task after task and it gets in the way of your actual job.

It could be at home, school, your friends, or other family members. 

Perhaps it is the other way though. Maybe in one of these areas, nobody really expects much of you. They don’t really expect you to do much and that starts to get in your head.

Many times I find myself in the second category. Nobody really expects a youth minister to amount to too much. Sure, they expect me to get lessons planned and events lined out. But beyond that. I’m the “youth guy.” Youth ministers are messy, unorganized, not really all that disciplined, not punctual, and childish. 

Then, when a youth minister shows some initiative it can be suspected, “oh they won’t be here for long. Looks like they are trying to move up to something bigger.” Of course “something bigger” refers to a senior minister position. 

What about a youth minister who just wants to to an excellent job at his ministry? What about a guy who wants to be a superb husband and father? 

I’m currently taking part in something called The Start Experiment. Those of us involved have decided to stop living a mediocre life and to trade it in for awesome.

As part of this round I’ve decided to get up at 5am every day. I’m going to run. I’m planning out specific times with my wife as well as each of my boys. As always, I am going to work hard at my job. I’m currently working on getting lessons finalized for this semester. 

I want to make the most of the life God has laid out for me. I want to use my time wisely and effectively. It wont be easy. This is day two of my 5 AM wake up, and it was so difficult to get out of bed and go for that run. 

There will be other things that will attempt to get in the way of my goals, but I can’t let them dictate what I know to be right. I can’t let other people’s expectations (too many, or not enough) hold me back. I can’t let fear of the unknown or what others may think stop me. 

Others may not always understand why we live the way we do, especially when we decide to leave the ordinary behind. But we must pursue what God has given us to live, no matter how crazy it seems to others.

No matter what they have decided our life should be.

So go after it! Life audaciously! Pursue awesome! Live the life God has prepared for you!

Leave a Reply

