Devotion to Christ is Simple?

September 14, 2012


But I am afraid that, as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, your minds will be led astray from the simplicity and purity of devotion to Christ.” -Paul in 2 Corinthians 11:3

I have recently assembled two different barbecue grills. They were different kinds and both came with their own set of directions. Now, I am a bit different than most guys you may know. I have to read the directions. If I don’t, and I get somewhere in the process of putting the object together and it is wrong, causing me to backtrack, I get pretty frustrated.

I like it when the instructions are written out as simply as possible. When I am able to read about each piece, alongside a detailed picture, I do well. Lucky for me, I only misread a couple times with each of the grills so assembly was very simple.

When I read the verse I pasted at the top of this post, it caused me to stop for a moment. It almost sounded like Paul was saying that following Christ was simple. My first thought was he tells his readers that there is nothing to it, its just simple.

This sounds great, but is that what Paul was actually saying, and if so is following Christ really all that simple? Is it simple to leave the life we lived before Christ? Is it simple to get rid of sin and addiction?

The answer is yes and no (I know, I hate that answer too).

It makes me think about the Joker in the movie “The Dark Knight”. He has come up with a plan that would allow crime to rule once again. His plan? “It’s simple. We kill the Batman.”

For anyone who has watched the movie, you know it wasn’t all that simple to actually kill Batman. In fact he didn’t accomplish it. It was not simple to actually carry out, there was a lot of work that went into the plan, but the plan itself, at its most basic level was simple. He would do whatever it took to carry out this plan.

I think this is what Paul is trying to say. Our focus should be on devoting ourselves to Christ. It should fill our minds and flow from our hearts. At our most basic level, our lives should be about devotion to Jesus. It’s that simple, meaning there is just the one thought, or the one goal.

When we find ourselves in a situation and we are unsure of what we should do, we can ask ourselves “Will this show devotion to Christ?” and that should give us our answer. No matter what outside influences may tell us we have to keep evaluating our lives to see if we have a pure and simple devotion.

There are no, “I am devoted in these two situations, but not these two over here.” That is complicating the matter and not the simple, pure devotion we are called to display. Our devotion to Christ should permeate our entire lives.

It is what our lives are about. Then, when we are devoted to Christ and only Christ, we will not be led astray by the one who has been deceiving since the beginning.

One Response to “Devotion to Christ is Simple?”

  1. […] Devotion to Christ is Simple?  […]

Leave a Reply

