Getting Away From the Norm

September 10, 2012


I’m not the most creative person. I know for some of you that may be hard to believe. You have given into the misconception that all people who work in Youth Ministry have a special part of their brain that is constantly coming up with new games or creative ideas. There are those who fall into that category.

Unfortunately, I am not one of them. It would be convenient if I was, but I’m not.

Most of the time I find myself getting in a rut. I go to the office everyday at right about the same time. I get studying done, visit with those who come through the offices and plan. But sometimes I find myself staring at my notepad and all of a sudden it is 4pm. I look down and the only new thing on the paper are the slight indentations from my elbows (and sometimes a little drip of drool).

I write this, not so the elders who have hired me can read this and wonder why they are paying me, but instead because I’m guessing I’m not the only one who sometimes comes to a roadblock.

Most of the time we manage these frustrating situations in the wrong way. Instead of sitting there and continuing to do nothing, change your situation.

Today I grabbed my laptop, a couple Christian Standard magazines, and my Bible and I left the office. I went to sit in the sun at McDonald’s. I ordered a coffee and have gone to work.

I almost immediately felt a change in my attitude and my thinking process. Sometimes all that has to happen is a change in scenery. It can really get the brain working.

Being physically active can help. Going for a walk or a run. If your workplace has a gym, maybe shooting some baskets. It creates a break from the norm and will help you feel refreshed when you come back to the task at hand.

I am not here telling you to procrastinate. What I am suggesting is taking some sort of break from the norm to help the creative juices flow.

I’ve seen it help in my own life and I am convinced it will help in yours.

Leave a Reply

