God Stays the Same

September 6, 2012


Over a year ago, my family and I moved to the boot-heel of Missouri. I began working for a congregation full-time as the Student Minister.

There were new people all around. We had new parents to get to know, new students. I even had to change some of the ways I was getting my work accomplished.

Our son was continuing to grow and change. Then we found out we were going to be having another baby. Change seemed to be all around, and it still is. That line “the only constant thing is change,” continues to ring true, and I’m sure that it is not just true for me.

Chances are, you are facing some sort of change in your life. It could be a new job, or a new addition, or loss to the family. Perhaps you have recently changed schools, or at least changed grades. A change in diet, friends, hairstyle, clothes (hopefully this one happens regularly), are all things we encounter at some time in our lives.

Change can be something in our lives that causes a lot of stress. It brings about the unknown and a feeling of uneasiness. Isn’t it comforting to know that we have a God who is always the same?

James 1:17 says, “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”

Our situations may change. To be honest, we may change. But God stays the same. He has promised to be with us, and He keeps that promise. He is always pure, good, Truth, and love. Our perception of this unchanging God may change, hopefully for the better as we know Him more, but He never does.

It is comforting for me to know that I can always trust God to be exactly who He has always been and to do just as He has always done. I need that constant in a world that is always changing around me.

One Response to “God Stays the Same”

Leave a Reply

