Fighting Distractions

August 28, 2012


Distractions are everywhere. They can be people, objects, websites, songs, or activities. Distractions come in all sorts of packages and I find they catch me off guard more than they should.

So many times, I am sitting in my office chair getting a lot of productive work done, and then it happens. A distraction comes out of nowhere and I find myself wasting time instead of getting work done. It could be the sound of someone on Facebook chat, a text, maybe I remember a really great video, or I become lost in thoughts and allow myself to drift off to a different world.

Burying my nose in a book

Whatever shape distractions come in, we must be ready for them. If it means shutting your door so that nobody comes in while you are working on something that needs focus. I used to do this in college. It seemed like I had a magnet for people in my room and if I left the door open very long, a whole gang would show up. I found that if I shut and locked my door then I was able to get studying done without the distraction of people.

Sometimes removing yourself from distracting places works. Perhaps there is a place away from the internet or other people that you can go to just to get away and focus on a project or task. I find that sometimes I need to leave the office in order to get my best work done. I take a pad of paper and a book and I am set! It’s not the same for everyone but changing up the scenery can really help with the monotonous feel of the office or wherever you tend to do most of your work.

Setting goals helps fight distractions. Breaks are a good thing to have. It allows for time to relax. Set some goals (either getting a task completed or a time goal) and after that goal is completed, reward yourself with a break. This does not mean work for 10 minutes and then take an hour break. Use some wisdom in this process. When we set goals for ourselves and take periodic breaks it can help productivity and help fight the allure of distractions.

 

This can be applied to many areas of our lived: work, home, school, and even our walk with Christ. I know I have plenty of distractions that try to pull me off track of what God wants me to do.

If Monday was a rough day for you, stay diligent and try out some of these tips. Keep up the fight to do the work that God has laid before you. I’ll leave you with what Paul wrote in Colossians 3:17, “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”

What distractions tempt you the most? What are some ways you fight them?

One Response to “Fighting Distractions”

Leave a Reply

