The Perfect Father

February 23, 2012


Over the last couple days I have been able to spend a little more time with my son. My wife was very sick, so to help out I was spending time with him.

I don’t always get to spend as much time with Noah as I would like, so when I get to it is really special to me. We got to do everything together. One of my favorite times with him was when we went on a run together (I also got to learn some new rules about this, but we wont go over those now).

I would strap him in his stroller and just take off. He would turn around and look at me and smile or laugh. He would un-Velcro his shoes and then turn around to make sure I saw. He would wave at every person that we saw and bark at every dog. It was just a great time.

During these couple days I occurred to me how much I cherished our time together, even in the “mundane” parts of the day (I use quotes because with a 17 month old there are not really mundane times). This made me think about my connection with God.

God loves it when we spend time with Him. He looks forward to times when we gather together with the body of Christ. But that is not the only time of week He wants to hear from us.

God is our Father. I know that not everyone has had good experiences with their fathers. Many men who have children run out before the child is born. Others stick around for a while and then split. Then you have fathers who abuse in one of many ways either the mother or his children.

Far too many men are taking the coward’s way out and not being a good presence in their children’s lives. It infuriates me because it makes society leery of men in general. I am striving to be the best father I can be and I don’t need everyone second guessing me because of the stupid choices of others.

It is not just the present and good earthly fathers that get a bad reputation. God does as well. He is called our heavenly father. But as a result of earthly fathers not doing their jobs, people do not like that image.

The thought of having another Father who will abandon, abuse, or not love does not sound appealing.

That is not how God is!

God is the perfect Father. He loves us more than we could ever know.

The Bible tells us to “pray continually,” and to “not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” Why would the Bible want us to do this?

Because God wants to spend time with us! He wants to hear about our everyday lives. We pray at all times so that He is on our minds because we are most certainly on His. We present our requests to God because He wants to hear them and give us what is good.

In the book of Psalms we find a righteous man being described as one whose “delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night.” We take delight in following our fathers and listening to his rules.

Right now my son goes crazy when we verbally praise him. And he also seems to take it a bit harder when I tell him no. Our heavenly Father also has a way He desires us to live. Not to make our lives miserable but because He loves us and wants what is best for us. When we realize that, then we delight in doing what He asks.

Our heavenly Father also loves us so much to discipline us. I am not talking about any kind of abuse, but rather discipline through love. He wants us to know when we have not followed Him and there are consequences for that. But he does these because He wants us to stay on the right path.

Our heavenly Father loves to spend time with us and He wants what is best for us. If you have not had a good relationship with your father, give God a chance. Don’t let your perceptions ruin that.

If you are a Father, look at the example that God gives us and follow it. Be the best father you can be by following the example of the best.

3 Responses to “The Perfect Father”

  1. Brandon, this one really hit home. My dad left us to pursue a gender change. It was hard and I wrestled with God over the term father. Once I came to the reality that it is a position to glorify God by displaying his character and to do so correctly one must follow his principles, I began to understand. My father had missed the point, but God provides and did. I had a man in my life that did follow the principles and taught me about life. He wasn’t perfect but he was there and cared and loved me. I have tried to follow God with my all and was humbled when my wife wanted to name our son after me. Talk about motivation to grow closer to God to be an illustration for my family. Thanks Brandon for this post.

    • Thank you very much for this very honest comment. I am so glad that you were able to have a man in your life who was a good example and that you have been able to work through that very difficult situation and trust God. It sounds to me that your wife thinks you are working to be the best man you can (and that God can make you) be if she wanted to name your son after you. What a great honor, and as you pointed out a huge motivation! Thanks again for your comment and may you continue to grow closer to God!

Leave a Reply

