The Power of a Voice

February 14, 2012


If you have read this blog very long you know that I have a son. This little man rocks my world every single day. He is 17 months old now and gets into everything that he possibly can. It is amazing to watch his little wheels turn as he tries to solve a problem like, “Mom put the remote control way up there where I can’t reach it. How can I fix that?”

From the first time I met him he was special to me. My wife had to have an emergency c-section with him and  there were other complications as well so they had to put her completely under. So I waited in the other room as they finished the procedure.

All of a sudden I heard the scream of a newborn traveling down the hallway. I knew either I had the most advanced baby in the world and he was running down the hall, or someone was carrying him to the nursery. I was then taken in and I had to stand there as the nurses checked him out to make sure all was well.

They finally told me I could come up and touch him. So I walked up to the hospital crib and put my hand on his chest and gently rubbed back and forth between his chest and stomach. I stared saying, “Noah, it’s okay buddy. Daddy is right here.” Then the most incredible thing in the world happened; he stopped crying! He laid there and just listened to me.

After a few moments I had to step back and let the nurses work. Once I did, he began to scream again.

My son knew my voice! All of that time feeling a little ridiculous as I talked to my pregnant wife’s belly really worked. He really did know who I was, or at least that I had been in his life for a while and that I was safe.

It was at that point that this John 10:2-4,  began to make sense:

The one who enters by the gate is the shepherd of the sheep. The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice…My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.

God speaks into our lives all of the time. He does it through His word or through events and people in our lives. When we spend our lives listening to the voice of God, we can distinguish it from all of the other noise. It becomes familiar to us. I am not really talking about the audible voice of God, instead what I mean is we can tell what God desires for us.

We will be able to distinguish between the Holy Spirit prompting us to action or our own selfish desires. The voice of God becomes something that we welcome.

I think many people avoid God because they are afraid of what He might say. He may ask them to change or do something they feel they are not ready to do. But during those times God is right there like a new father letting us know that He will be there for us and take care of us.

It is so comforting to know that I have a Father in Heaven who really does watch out for me! He wants the very best. Sometimes that means encouraging me to do challenging things but it is all for my good.

We can relax and stop screaming like a newborn when we sit and listen to the voice of God telling us He is there.

One Response to “The Power of a Voice”

Leave a Reply

