Working Behind the Scenes: God

January 17, 2012


We all like to be heard don’t we? Even if we are not very vocal about it, we wish that someone would know us and understand the thoughts that just simply cannot make it out of our mouths.

I remember growing up and being very shy. I only said what I was really thinking around the few very close friends that I had. But in group settings I desired to be heard, even though I would not say anything.

Today, thanks to social media, I see lots of people who want to be heard. I read lots of status updates of young people who love for people to know what is on their minds or in their hearts. Sometimes I see updates about being grounded and how unfair it is. When I read what they write on their page for all of their “friends” to read, I can’t imagine what was said during the argument when that went down. I would love to be a fly on that wall!

Desiring for others to hear us is part of being human. It is something that has gone on since the beginning.

We even desire for God to hear us. Perhaps I should clarify. This whole time while talking about  “hearing” I am not referring to the noise passing into our ear canal and causing our eardrums to vibrate and on up into our brains where it is translated as sound.

What I mean by hearing is that not only does the person hear the sound but he acknowledges it and then does something about it.

There are times in our lives when we cry out to God. We just want Him to know what is going on in our lives and that sometimes it is too much!

Perhaps a close family member has died. Maybe you are stuck at a dead end job and you cannot stand the monotony any longer, but you cannot leave because you have a family to support. It could be a sickness that you have or that someone close to you does. Sometimes sin seems to beat us over and over and we cannot figure our how to break the cycle.

Whatever the reason, we cry out to God.

There was a group of people in the Old Testament who did the same thing. In Exodus we find that the Israelites are now slaves in the land they lived. The Egyptians feared the people of Israel because they had grown to such a large number. So to keep the Israelites in check, they enslaved them. It is hard to lead a revolt when having to spend all your time doing slave work.

By 400 years of this, they had enough. They could not take it anymore! They called out to God to free them. Where had He gone? Did He not care?

In Exodus 3:7-10 we see God tell Moses this:

The LORD said, “I have surely seen the affliction of My people who are in Egypt, and have given heed to their cry because of their taskmasters, for I am aware of their sufferings. So I have come down to deliver them from the power of the Egyptians, and to bring them up from that land to a good and spacious land, to a land flowing with milk and honey, to the place of the Canaanite and the Hittite and the Amorite and the Perizzite and the Hivite and the Jebusite. Now, behold, the cry of the sons of Israel has come to Me; furthermore, I have seen the oppression with which the Egyptians are oppressing them. Therefore, come now, and I will send you to Pharaoh, so that you may bring My people, the sons of Israel, out of Egypt.”

When I read these verses something struck me, something I had never thought about before.

God had heard His people and He was doing something about it, but they had no idea! They continued to call out to God day after day (which is great, God wants us to bring our requests to Him) but He was already in the process of fixing the problem, they just could not see it yet!

Here was God talking with Moses about what was going to happen. God is going to spend some time now convincing Moses that he is the one to go. Moses delays more so God tells him his brother Aaron will be there too.

All the while, God’s people are calling out for the problem to be fixed.

I wonder how often this happens. How often do we call out to God every single day because our problems are just too big for us to fix and God is already working the background to fix the problem?

It made me think about how often we feel as though God is not listening but really He is, we just can’t see how He is working yet.

If you are facing trials or you are in a situation too big for you, keep taking that request to God. Keep living the way Jesus showed us to live, and keep praying and calling out.

You just never know what God has in store and where He is in the process!

One Response to “Working Behind the Scenes: God”

  1. […] Working Behind the Scenes: God […]

Leave a Reply

