Tebow and Our Responsibility

January 10, 2012


I don’t watch football (oops lost some of you right there). I just cannot seem to get into the game. Don’t get me wrong, if someone invites me over to watch a game, I’m all for it. However that is probably because there will be some great snacks and some conversations with at least one other person.

Even with my limited knowledge of the game, there is one player recently that I have not been able to stop hearing about: Tom Timon… wait not, Tim Teepee.. no, Tim Tebow. There! I told you I don’t follow this game.

Love him or hate him, people are talking about this guy all of the time. I see twitter and Facebook feeds all about him and the Broncos. At first I was not sure if they were good or not. I would just see updates like “I can’t believe Tebow!” But the more I heard, the more I realized that people were loving this guy (most of them anyway).

From what I have read and heard, Tim Tebow is making a huge stand for his faith. He sings Christian songs while tossing around a football, prays throughout a game, and is a huge encouragement to his entire team. Honestly, I am pretty amazed by this man.

We have way too many people who put their faith on a back burner when the lime light shines. They want to make sure that they are famous, and sometimes being a strong Christian puts an end to that kind of fame. People want to be famous for the sport or trade they are doing rather than being famous because they wont stop talking about Jesus.

That has not seemed to stop Tebow. He is a pretty good Quarter Back (from what I hear), getting his team into the second round of the playoffs, but he is also known for that faith that just wont go away.

There is something that bothers me about this whole situation though. It really has nothing to do with Tebow, the guy is doing the right thing. What bothers me is people’s attitudes about him. Again, not the negative attitudes toward him, but the extreme positive ones.

Tebow makes a constant stand for his faith and we act like he is some sort of amazing individual. We seem to think that he is doing something spectacular. Tebow is doing absolutely nothing that is not already commanded of him in Scripture.

In Luke 17:7-10 we find this:

“Which of you, having a slave plowing or tending sheep, will say to him when he has come in from the field, ‘Come immediately and sit down to eat’? But will he not say to him, ‘Prepare something for me to eat, and properly clothe yourself and serve me while I eat and drink; and afterward you may eat and drink’? He does not thank the slave because he did the things which were commanded, does he? So you too, when you do all the things which are commanded you, say, ‘We are unworthy slaves; we have done only that which we ought to have done.’”

My point is not that we should not encourage Tim Tebow. Send the guy some mail with encouragement and a Bible verse. Pray for him that he continues to make a stand from the platform that he has been given.

But stop thinking that he is doing something spectacular. Maybe Tim Tebow wouldn’t have to shine so bright, if we all got off of our couches where we comfortably watch him (or uncomfortably if you were a Steelers fan on Sunday) and started doing the same thing.

What if each of us made a stand for our faith while we were with family or at work? Tim Tebow is making a stand at work and we think it is incredible. Are you? Are you standing up for what is right, even when it is uncomfortable?

What if we lived our lives as bondservants for Christ, as we are called to do and we let Him shine out every moment of everyday? What if we could not stop talking about Him? What if we brought Jesus into every conversation and thanked Him openly for the blessings He has given to us?

Why are we relying on this football player to do that for us? God did not just command Tebow to do the talking because he is famous. God told each of us who has come into the salvation that God offers to do the same. Get up off your couch and go!

What is stopping you from doing what God commands?

8 Responses to “Tebow and Our Responsibility”

  1. I agree with you, Brandon. Those who follow Christ are meant to function as His ambassadors. Tebow is doing that unlike many in his field. That is what that makes him stand out.

    • That is very true Joe! I was pointing out that if all Christians spoke out as often and loudly about their faith as he did, it would not be considered abnormal. I know that I have some areas I could be doing a lot better in.

  2. Aunt Shelly said

    Brandon, Tebow didn’t show me on Sunday he was a Christian. I watched that game cause I’m a STEELER fan. We have Christian guys too. Tebow isn’t that great he just end up having a good day. But for having 8-8 that isn’t great. I do enjoy reading you articles. Tebow deal will die down after Saturday when they play NE. Go Patriots!!

    • My point in this was not to attack Tebow’s faith or his playing ability. The point of the post was to say that we all need to be standing up for our faith, all of the time. We should not be afraid of what other people think. The reason it shines so bright when Tebow does this is because more people are not. If all Christians lived and spoke about Christ as much and as loudly as Tebow does, it would not be something out of the ordinary.

      • Michelle said

        Brandon, I see what your saying about us. But don’t see his faith in Christ cause I didn’t see him doing anything. So that means he has to show me he’s a christian.

      • He has been heard singing Christian songs before the game while throwing a football around. He has talked about praying before and during the games. The people closest to him look up to him greatly because he is a huge encouragement. He thanks Jesus for the blessings that he has. There are a lot of things this man says and does to show that he is a Christian. Now I think some people have gone too far and almost worshiping Tebow and that is wrong. He is just a servant of the King just like the rest of us. However, I do not think it is our place to say that he is not a Christian because we do not know his heart. Only God knows.

  3. […] Tebow and Our Responsibility […]

Leave a Reply

