God and Athletics

October 28, 2011


I am going to start this post out with a small confession. When I tell you this some of you may just stop reading right there. It may just be too much for you. You may think something like “That’s it! Now I cannot trust anything this guy says anymore.” As you think that you may move your mouse to the right side of this this post and click “unsubscribe” (Oh, you are not subscribed? Well go ahead and check that out!). Alright, here it is: I am not a baseball fan.

Let me rephrase that: I am not a fan of sitting on my couch and watching baseball. I love the play the game. I love to head out to third base or left field and let the fly balls head my way. I even don’t mind actually going to a game. Although I think the last game I went to was during the season of the great Mark McGwire/Sammy Sosa battle. I remember it being fun though.

All that being said, I had last night’s game on from about the bottom of the fourth until the end of the game. I was not really paying attention except to look up every once-in-a-while to see how the score was progressing. Once the 9th inning came around I was completely into it. It had been such a back and forth that I wanted to see who finally came out on top. I was on the edge of my seat (or I would have been if I had not been sitting on the floor) when, not once, but twice, the rangers were one out away from winning the World Series.

Now here is the kicker. I found myself wanting to pray for a certain outcome. I was so caught up in the moment that I wanted to ask God for some divine intervention. I don’t really care about baseball (last night’s game was especially good though)!

That made me think about those whose life revolves around baseball. I’m not talking about the guy in your Sunday School class who wears his Cardinal’s shirt on under his button up and he didn’t bother turning it inside out so you can still see the logo through his thin dress shirt.

I mean people who live and breathe baseball. They cannot imagine their lives without it. They need baseball. Baseball is the most important thing to them.

Now I am not trying to pick on baseball. Let’s broaden the topic to anything that we place higher than God. There are so many things out there that can do this to us. Here is a small list of ways to check if you are placing more emphasis on something or someone other than God.

Getting mad during the Sunday morning worship. Do you get upset when the service runs a little over because you will be missing your game that happens Sunday afternoon? I can guarantee that what God can do in your life through the preaching of His word or through taking the Lord’s Supper together is way more important than catching the opening kickoff. In the age of DVR surely you can start recording and then catch up once you get home (unless you are like me and do not have a DVR).

You ask the preacher to cancel the Sunday Night service. I’m sorry but there is not a game in the world more important than having another opportunity to share or listen to the gospel.

You buy a bunch of tickets but give no money to the local church. It is said that we can tell where our hearts are by how we spend our money. Where is all of your money going? If we are grateful for what Christ has done we should desire to give so that the church can keep doing more work that God has given her to do.

You find time to catch all the games but there is just no time to read the Bible. It is so important for us to be getting into God’s word. This is how we learn His will and one way the Holy Spirit works in our lives. We need to find some time on a regular basis to be getting in our Bibles.

Now all that being said, I do not hate sports. I think they can be a lot of fun and a great time to rally around our teams with friends. I have no problem with going to games, playing sports, or coaching little league. In fact I will probably be watching the last game of the World Series. Let’s just be careful to not make these recreational activities more important than our Lord who has saved us.

What other things would you add to my list? What other activities do weplace higher than God?

One Response to “God and Athletics”

  1. […] God and Athletics October 28 […]

Leave a Reply

