what does your future hold?

September 23, 2011


I was part of a conversation yesterday about the weather. It went a little something like this:

Man: “Well I’m not sure when they plan on getting done but I know that they are not working today because of the chance of rain.” Me: “When is that supposed to happen?” Man: “I thought it should be already. When I checked the weather this morning at 5:40 the rain didn’t look to far away and usually when it is there at that time, it reaches here by now.”

It actually didn’t end up raining until later in the afternoon. I have had other discussions about the weather or more specifically about certain weather predicting websites. I complain about this one or that one because it was an hour or two off the predicted time for when the storm would be in the area. I expect the “hour by hour” predictions to be spot on. I want to know EXACTLY when and what weather conditions I can expect at any given time. I have found myself getting annoyed and even wondering why I even bother checking the weather anymore. “It’s not even accurate!” I exclaim.

This attitude I have found in myself does not just end with weather predictions. I do the same thing when it comes to watching television. For two years my wife and I have had a tv provider that has given us the capability of seeing what shows are coming on at what times. I can look hours, and sometimes even a couple days, out to see if there will be a show on that I may want to watch. Now, however, our provider does not give us that option. In fact, it does not even give us the option to see the name of the program that is currently on! What kind of service is this?

Funny isn’t it? My desire to know the future has actually grown into an attitude of I deserve to know the future. I am entitled to it. If I do not know it, or have access to it then I am not getting my fair share of information.

Actually now that I think about it, I believe this feeling of entitlement comes from a desire to be in control. I find some small satisfaction and somehow I feel in control of the tv or weather when I know what is coming up. I feel a little more powerful, and in a world where not a lot is sitting in the palm of my hand, it feels good. It feels good to be in the know. We do this with so much more than weather or the tv, but these are fairly non-threatening examples and I will let you sit and think about where you get your power fix from.

We should be having a different attitude. Let’s be honest, this feeling of control I have is just a deception. Knowing that Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman comes on at 4-6 every weekday on INSP does not make me in control of the programming anymore than not knowing (I admit that admitting to knowing when Dr. Quinn comes on everyday does not make me seem very credible with some audiences).

Not being in control though leads to worry right? I mean if I am not in the know of my future then I must worry about it. Wrong. Jesus gives us an alternative. In Matthew 6 Jesus commands that we not worry about tomorrow or what we will be wearing or what we will eat. He tells us that God is in control of those things and that we will be taken care of. So there is an alternative! Instead we must “Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness.”

We need to change our focus from being in control and having to know it all. We need to let go of the worry because again as Scripture tells us it does not add anything to our lives. We need to rest in the arms of God and realize that He is in control and that should give us the peace that surpasses understanding. Even when we do not know exactly what is coming up, or how we need to handle a situation at work, God know and He will take care of us. We can know what His will is (through Scripture) and let’s spend our time chasing after that instead of things we really have no control over.

Looks like it is going to be a beautiful fall day; maybe that will change. I don’t mind because I know God is in control.

 

When have you struggled with giving your worries over to God or letting go of something you felt you needed to be in control of?

Leave a Reply

