A Fresh Start

September 16, 2011


It’s fun to think about new things isn’t it? When somebody drives by in a brand new (insert favorite kind of car), its fun to think about what it would be like to have that; or at least it’s fun to think about what it would be like to have a newer vehicle than our 1998 Oldsmobile Silhouette. It is exciting to dream about a big move, starting a family, or a brand new job.

If you are like me, though, it’s difficult to actually start new. Just recently my family and I moved to a new town, for a new job, going to a new church. We moved away from the familiar. Everybody knew who I was where we were. But God called us to make a move so, in faith, we made the move.

Dreaming about change excites me. Carrying out that change scares me to death. But we did it and we are here, and I am excited!

I had a blog. It was a blog on a different site and I was not very diligent in keeping up with it. I never had a purpose in my writing, I was just writing as a kind of online journal (much like I did with a Xanga account 5 years ago). I wanted to start writing with purpose and a goal, but I did not know how to start, so I simply kept right on doing what I was doing.

Good thing my email address started messing up. Every time I tried logging in, there were complications. It was like God saying, “Here is your out.” So I started this blog. It makes me nervous but I am also very excited. I have ideas and I plan to implement them. I plan to be more diligent in writing. I want to discuss ministry and leadership.

I am through simply reading about how to be a better blogger, how to write better stories, and how to engage with a community. It is way passed time to start; now I am stepping out to take hold of that dream. I have got into my 2011 For Mustang gt and I’m taking off.

When have you had to step out of your comfort zone and start something new?

Leave a Reply

